Shivvin’ bitches, since 1700 BC.


I’m told it’s a Luristanian Bronze Age spearpoint, but after scanning through a few dozen other Luristanian bronzes of approximately the same age, I’m starting to think it *might* be a knife blade.  On the other hand, the person who told me was an expert, whereas I talk mostly out of my ass.  It’s probably a spearpoint.  The “tang” on the bottom where the spear would be fixed onto a pole just doesn’t look sturdy enough to me.  To my ignorant, but eagerly speculative eye, that would suggest it probably wasn’t intended for use in battle, perhaps it would have been more “ceremonial” or something, for show, kinda like the polearms the Swiss Guard would carry.  WTF do I know, though?  I just spew words and hope they sound smart.

It’s was made somewhere between 1700-1200BC, in the Luristan region of what is now Iran.  Persons with an interest in relatively current events might recognize Lorestan(same thing) as the home of Mahdi Kharroubi, one of the recent also-ran candidates for Fake President of Iran.  Most of the news focused on Moussavi and DinnerJacket, since they were the main candidates, but poor ol’ Mahdi got cheated too!  I’d totally let him borrow my shiv if he wants to get even in style.

1700-1200BC Bronze Age spear

1700-1200BC Bronze Age spear

In ~1500BC, Luristan occupied the northern/central part of Iran, the region near the border with Afghanistan.  They were known for their bronzework, but not much else.  They may have largely kept to themselves, although there are indications that they had at least some contact with their neighbors, the Mesopotamians. Unlike the Mesopotamians, however, the Luristanians apparently weren’t so good with the written records, thus the not knowing a whole lot about them, except that their style, much like my own, was unique in the region.  They don’t appear to have traded much in bronze with their neighbors, by virtue of Luristan bronze being pretty rare in excavations outside of the Luristan region, including neighboring Mesopotamia, but they did engage in at least some trade.

luristan-bronze-b

I tried to find other examples  to see how similar others from the same time period were to mine.  I couldn’t really find any that matched, some were closeish, but none had the same combination of features that might suggest a common origin(at least to my ignorant eye), or narrow down its age a bit.

Leave a Reply

